Bittersweet

ImageNot everything in life is black or white, glorious or miserable, but a bit in between, usually swaying towards one pole or another.  These are usually the hardest decisions you’ll ever have to make… because there is no clear cut choice.  You have to search deep within your soul, your heart, it’s beyond logic… I recently had to make one of these difficult, life altering decisions (okay, dramatic!);  but in all honestly, it did change my daily routine, my environment, my comfort zone. I changed my path, to a more direct (read: faster) one towards my goal. 

This past Monday, I officially changed my career path.  I left an organization who afforded me great opportunities, including career experience, personal growth, and wonderful (and others NOT so wonderful) working relationships, and the many friendships throughout the years.  The days leading up to the final day were more difficult than anticipated, unexpected waves of emotion would come over me; most sentimental, others not so much. 

Yet the final day came, and it was bittersweet.  I was excited to begin my adventure down a new path, yet saddened by the one I was leaving behind.

I do not regret the decision I made, it had to be done.  I had to be bold, and take the leap.  Leaving the friendships behind was the most difficult part, but the true friends will stay near, no matter what career path.  New friendships will develop also, and soon this new adventure will have its own routine that I will create and embrace.    It will just take time, courage, and dedication.  The new path will soon be lit by the warmth of comfort, familiarity, and reverie. 

“Thought is the labor of the intellect, reverie is its pleasure.”  ~ Victor Hugo

Tags: , , ,

About alillycp

Experienced accounting professional, insightful analysis, innovative problem solver, goal strategy

Leave a Reply

