Balancing Act

Image

Another bittersweet ending and one of the most difficult balancing acts I’ve had to endure in my life will officially conclude in less than a week.  For the past two years (plus) I have been balancing being a mother, wife, daughter, friend, career woman, and graduate student…. Not to mention sanity, trying to keep my sanity during this time has been a feat in itself. I have had to function during the day with only 2-3 hours of sleep, multiple days in a row.  To be a supportive wife, dedicated mother, diligent student, accomplished career woman, and available daughter and friend, are not easy roles to fulfill, and were difficult to manage at times.  The past two years have been laden with guilt, for the times I could not be strictly dedicated to my family, especially my young child; overflowing with pressure and stress;  yet full of accomplishments and successes.  It has been a great balancing act, one of the most difficult ones yet, and I’m sure not the last.  The key to it all was that it was my choice, and I knew I wanted to do it, all of it, and worked hard to accomplish it all, and achieve my goals.  

I couldn’t have done it without the support of my family, especially my husband, who took on added duties in support of me following my dreams; the unwavering support of my parents, the encouragement of my friends and colleagues; and the small voice that whispered I love you mommy, with her small arms tightly wrapped around my neck;  it’s for her, her future.  

I am grateful to them and thank you for taking time out of your, undoubtedly packed, day to read my blog posts.  All our time is precious, and I thank you for allowing me to be a part of yours. 

Cheers, to two of the longest years of my life!

“We never know how high we are

Till we are called to rise;

And then, if we are true to plan,

Our statures touch the skies.”

— Emily Dickinson

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About alillycp

Experienced accounting professional, insightful analysis, innovative problem solver, goal strategy

Leave a Reply

